Using video call options

The video call window has different options available to provide you with the best possible experience. In order to display the Actions toolbar, move your mouse towards the top of the window. You can click on the thumb tack icon to "pin" it in place.

 

To adjust your microphone volume:

Move your mouse over the microphone icon ( ). If the Automatically adjust my microphone option is selected, then a slide bar won't appear (in this case you can click the drop-down arrow next to the microphone, select Automatically adjust my microphone and the checkmark will not appear). Slide the bar rightward to increase the volume or leftward to decrease the volume.
Some microphones have a mute button, so make sure it isn't muted (you can mute the microphone from the video call window).

 

To mute your microphone:

Click . A label will appear on your video pane to show you that your microphone is muted. Other participants will not see an indication that you have muted your microphone. Click again to activate your microphone.

 

To adjust your speaker volume:

Move your mouse over the speaker icon ( ) and slide the bar rightward to increase the volume or leftward to decrease the volume.

 

To mute your speakers:

Click . Other participants will not see an indication that you have muted your speakers. Click again to activate your speakers.

 

To mute your camera:

If your web camera is connected and you do not want to send your live video, you can stop it and continue talk in the conversation without being seen.

Click . Your camera will no longer send video. Your video will change to your display photo. Click again to send your live video.

 

To change your camera settings during the video call:

You can adjust your camera's settings during the video call (in order to make your video pane appear brighter, darker, etc.). Click on the drop-down arrow next to the camera icon and select Camera settings. Move the camera properties window next to your live video pane and then move a slider for a specific setting and glance at your video picture to see the change. You can click Default to go back to the original settings. When finished click Apply then click OK. Your video picture will be displayed to everyone with the new settings.
It's a good idea to make sure you have enough light. Click here for some tips to improve your video experience.

 

To change the video resolution:

You can send your video in low, standard, high or HD resolution. For high and HD resolutions, only one participant can send in this quality at a given time in multi-party calls (but in one-on-one calls both can send in these resolutions). Both high and HD resolutions offer increased video clarity (high resolution is 640x480 and HD is 1280x720). In order to send in high resolution or HD, you need a strong computer with a dual core CPU and a webcam that supports high resolution or HD video. It also requires an Internet line with a 384 Kbps upload for high resolution and a 1.5 MB upload for HD.
We recommend double-clicking on the received video sent in high or HD resolution to view it in full screen.

  1. Click Resolution and select the desired setting.
  2. To return to the standard or other resolution, click Resolution and select the desired setting.

 

To view a video in full screen:

Double-click on the participant's video or select Full screen from the video’s drop-down arrow. You can use the left and right keyboard arrow keys to switch between call participants or by moving the mouse scroll wheel. A panel with small video windows of the video call participants will appear in the lower right corner of the screen momentarily. The panel can be displayed momentarily by moving the mouse. If you want to keep the panel displayed, click to pin the panel. To “unpin” the panel, click . Audio and video device controls are also displayed momentarily at the bottom of the screen and can be returned by moving the mouse. You can return to standard view by double-clicking, pressing the Escape keyboard key or by clicking .

 

To take a snapshot of the video call:

  1. Click Actions and click Snapshot. A picture of the participants who appear in the ooVoo video call window is taken immediately and a file selection window opens.
  2. Select the location where you want to save the picture. It's recommended to change the name of the file from 'snapshot' to something more meaningful to you.
  3. Click Save.

 

To take a picture of a contact in the video call:

During the video call, you can take a picture of yourself or of a contact who is participating in the conversation. This picture can be used to replace the current display photo.

 

Right-click on a participant's video and select Take a photo. A confirmation message appears. Click OK. The display photo is changed with the new picture.
Every ooVoo user can prevent others from taking a picture of them by checking an option in the video call privacy settings.

 

To switch to sidebar view:

Your ooVoo calls can be viewed in a sidebar to enable you to view documents, web pages or other items on your desktop.

  1. Click View and then click Sidebar. The sidebar appears on the right side of the screen. To return to the standard view click .
  2. To move the sidebar to the left side of the screen, click (upper left part of the sidebar) and select Align to left.
  3. Click Menu to invite people to join the call, change your view mode, change your video resolution, and perform actions such as screen sharing.
  4. You can mute (or unmute) the camera, speakers and microphone by clicking on their icons. You can move your mouse over the speaker and microphone icons to adjust the volume. The drop-down menus are used to select different devices (if needed).
    The microphone drop-down menu has an option to automatically adjust the volume. If the microphone is set to automatically adjust its volume, then the you will not be able to adjust its volume (you can click on it to disable the setting).
  5. To end the ooVoo call, click .


The following topic may be of interest: 

Participate in the ooVoo call